Breaking News

Government Polytechnic, Karatagi

Government Polytechnic, Karatagi was started in the year 2009. Shri Erappa Hunagund was deputed as a special Officer to take charge as a Principal of Govt Polytechnic, Karatagi by DTE, Bangalore. Initially, the institute was sanctioned with 4 main branches namely 1) Civil Engineering 2) Computer Science & Engineering 3) Electronics & Communication Engineering and 4) Mechanical Engineering with an intake of 60 students for each branch.

Currently, the institute is located in the premises of APMC Yard, Karatagi. A land of 4.12 acres has been sanctioned for the construction of the proposed building in the year 2009 at Naganakal – Karatagi.

Since the academic year 2009-10, 2 batches of students have been passed out in the academic year 2011-12 and 2012-13. Currently, the institute has 342 students admitted in the academic year 2013-14.

Government Polytechnic, Karatagi is currently being offered in the following departments.





Diploma in Computer Science Engineering



Diploma in Mechanical Engineering



Diploma in Electronics & Communication Engineering



Diploma in Civil Engineering


Government Polytechnic, Karatagi


  1. Well qualified & experienced lecturers
  2. Well modernized laboratories
  3. Library
  4. Hostel & Canteen facilities
  5. NSS
  6. Student Association
  7. Learning Resources
  8. Technical seminars
  9. Sports & Cultural Activities
  10. Students Welfare Association
  11. Red Cross

Center For Continuing Technical Education ( CCTEK)

CCTEK Sub Centre was established on 11th March 2013 under the approval of Directorate of Technical Education, Bangalore. The motto of CCTEK Sub Centre is to provide technical training and to enhance the skills of students and people of the local region.

Placement and Training Centre

Government Polytechnic, Karatagi has a separate placement cell. As per the requirement of the companies eligible students are assisted to attend campus interviews, which were held in Nodal Polytechnic Centers like Government Polytechnic, Koppal, Government Polytechnic, Bellary & Government Polytechnic, Hubli through Placement Cell.

Government Polytechnic
APMC Yard, RG Road
Tq: Gangavathi, Koppal Dist.
Karatagi – 583 229
Contact no.: 08533 275 133

Check Also

M N Technical Institute, Bangalore

M N Technical Institute, Bangalore was established in the year 1987 by the Poorna Pragna …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.